

## Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Fact Sheet

- Each day, public safety officers risk their lives to protect American citizens and communities. To honor
  that commitment, Congress passed the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Act of 2001, which created
  the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor, the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer.
- The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is awarded by the President to public safety officers cited by the Attorney General and recommended by the Medal of Valor Review Board.
- The Medal of Valor Review Board is an 11 member board appointed by the President, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the U.S. Senate, and the Speaker and the Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives. The board, which comprises representatives of the public safety community and the general public, reviews the nominations and recommends individuals for recognition.
- "Public safety officer" is defined as a person (living or deceased) who serve(d) in a public agency, with or without compensation, as a firefighter, law enforcement officer (including a corrections or court officer, or a civil defense officer), or emergency services officer, as determined by the Attorney General.
- The 2006-2007 class of recipients represents the sixth anniversary of the Medal of Valor award; to date only 41 medals have been awarded for valorous conduct of a public safety officer.
- There were 114 nominations nationwide from 22 states and the District of Columbia and 5 types of public safety agencies, including law enforcement, fire and emergency services, and federal agencies.

## 2006-2007 Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor Recipients

- o Commander Miguel G. Galvez, Opa-Locka Police Department, Florida
- o Officer David C. Goitia, Glendale Police Department, Arizona
- o Detective Raymond Robertson, Miami-Dade Police Department, Florida
- o Special Agent William Sentner, III (Deceased), U.S. Department of Justice, Office of the Inspector General, Investigations Division, Miami Field Office, Florida
- o Lieutenant Carlos J. Thompson, Mobile County Sheriff's Office, Alabama